"Classes designed to teach students the skill and responsibility of driving"
SmartStart™ Driver Education Program
32 hours of Interactive classroom / online instruction
14 hours of Focused behind the wheel in-car training
Drug and alcohol Awarenessprogram
Permit test Preparationwith actual exams
Enjoy up to a 15% Savings on auto insurance costs
Trusted partner helping to Developcritical skills
Why do I need to take a drivers education course?
If you are under 18 and would like to get your drivers license, State Law requires that you first complete an approved Driver Education Program. The course may be completed in a traditional classroom with a live instructor or through a home-study / internet course. In Texas, once you complete the first 6 hours of your drivers education course and receive your classroom Certificate of Completion, you can go to any DPS office to obtain your learners permit. After you get a learners permit, you may begin driving while being supervised.
Step One:A Learners Permit – What Is It?
Obtaining an instructional learners permit is the first step towards a full unrestricted drivers license. The permit allows you to operate a motor vehicle while being supervised by an experienced licensed driver. The driver who supervises you must be occupying the front passenger seat and has to be at least 21 years old.
Whether attending our classroom or online State-ApprovedDrivers Education course, you can rest assured that you will receive 32 hours of engaging and informative classroom instruction facilitated by the latest book edition of Drive Right as well as 14 hours of focused behind-the-wheel training.The first 6 hours of classroom and online instruction are devoted to preparing students to take the DMV written permit test.
Study guides are issued that contain a copy of The Texas Drivers Handbook, sample tests, practice exams, and helpful tips that, if studied, will give them the necessary knowledge to pass the actual written permit test their first time attempted - in effect, saving you valuable time at the DPS office, stress and money. After 6 hours of instruction (3 days), students must pass the DMV written Permit test in order to qualify to receive their instructional permit (Learners License).
After the student obtains their instructional Permit, then they may begin to schedule driving lessons with us and are permitted to drive while supervised by a licensed person aged 21 or over who is occupying the front seat. Students are required to attend / complete a total of 16 class sessions which are 2 hours in length.
Driving lessons are by appointment-only and are easily scheduled online through the student's portal and should occur in the student's "free time" once their instructional permit has been issued to them by the DPS office. Parents are encouraged to take an active role in the scheduling of their student's driving lessons. A typical driving session consists of a two-hour scheduled appointment in which the student will drive with the instructor for one hour and the second hour will be utilized observing their partner drive.
Learners Permit Restrictions Include:
No driving between midnight and 5 a.m. (unless its an emergency, work or school related)
Restrictions on the age of passengers
Permitted to have (1) non-family member under 21 years of age in vehicle for 1st year
Are permitted to have more than 1 family member as passenger(s)
No cell phone use of any type, not even hands-free (No texting, messaging, calling)